For Louriana…

Unconditionally Loved

By Roxana Reyes Davis

As the night begins,

the moon smiles to me.

Across the distance,

I lay down on my crib,

So small, so freshly new,

And I wonder,…

My thoughts travel around my light green walls,

Flying through and through

those lavender fairies above my crib.

Will you love me still

When my tears become too many,

When my words – not formed yet-

Come out of my lips as unending cries?

I am so small,

There’s no control, and you,

You are just beginning to know me,

Will you love me?

I need to know,

Please won’t you tell me,

Will you love me when my tantrums become obvious

In the middle of a mall

And everyone seems to look at us

And you’re burning inside…?

My words will be limited then

And you might be overly concerned.

You might look to the outside

And feel judged by the world.

But to me, you are the world!

Will you let me know that it is all right even when

I’m unable to control these powerful emotions,

Will you let me know that you love me still?

As the years pass by,

I’ll surprise you with my individual process.

I will often disagree with your values.

I’ll be inclined to reject your brilliant ideas

And your expectations.

Your dreams for my life might be

Totally opposite of what I want to pursue.

Will you let me know that above everything and anything,

Your love for me is unconditionally strong?

You’ll be all the world I’ll see for a while,

But for a life time you’ll be the parent I’ll have.

I’ll learn to see God through your eyes.

I’ll know me and others through you!

****

Because of this,

My thoughts fly high tonight.

I pray for mom.

I pray for dad.

Prayers are sweet  whispers

From the heart of a child.

…And I heard those whispers

As she closed her eyes late at night,

“God, remember my prayers,

the ones I lift up to you this day,

and those prayers I’ll say later in life.

And Lord, when I’m too grown 

to remember You,

please remind me that You love me still,

even if I forget how to love You!”

Amen!

rrd@copyright2016

One thought on “For Louriana…

Leave a comment