A Drawer at The Time

Scrubbing, sponge, more scrubbing, adding detergents, still not perfect, crusted spots! How many of us enjoy cleaning the refrigerator on regular basis?
I honestly don’t but I enjoy to see the afterwards results so even if it is a drawer or two at the time, I forced myself to make the time and just begin the uncomfortable job!
Today I found a large drawer that truly needed attention! I began by checking if anything needed to be toss away and got the good out on the counter. Lots of water, soap, and scrubbing made the drawer as good as new. But while inspecting the drawer space in the fridge, I found several old dry stains that took extra time to get rid off. And I began to think about my life… That spiritual center of my heart that needs daily TLC… I need God entering those spaces that no one sees, the past betrayal, all the abandonment, the rejection and the lonely moments. I need to come honest, vulnerable so my Lord can deal with the consequences of my past decisions, with the bad, and the ugly! And it is so good to know that my Father God won’t grow weary of scrubbing the crusty stains on my life. That even if it’s painful, and a lengthy process, my God is patient and more than able…
While I was cleaning the far end inside the refrigerator, I noticed some old stains are harder than others. There might be missing, hidden spots and so in my heart, there will always be, while on this earth, a hidden spot that only God can see and heal! But there will be a day when everything is exposed, everything impacted by Christ love, pure then, free and whole!
Meanwhile, I’ll give my Lord this large drawer, He knows exactly what to do with it!

For “Reflections” by Roxana Reyes Davis
4/13/24

Rose of Sharon, photo by Roxana Reyes Davis

Leave a comment