The Bucket

(Original POEM written on February 10, 2021 by Roxana Reyes Davis)

Lord,

my bucket is empty!

It has been full at times

(not because of anything I did on my part)

but because of You at work in my life…

Oh God,

so many times this bucket has been knocked down,

kicked around, its content deliberately spilled…

Once was new,

shiny as gold,

but now,

now is tainted,

thinner, rusty and old…

But I’ve seen it transformed

Lord,

I’ve seen that bucket between Your fingers

being transformed,

patiently, lovingly…

I’ve seen You washing the stains,

rubbing off ancient marks,

recovering brightness,

refilled with Your mercy and grace…

But today Lord,

I kneel my soul at Your feet

and beg You to take a look at this bucket

because once again

its not what it used to be.

Please Lord,

wash my bucket with unending flow,

rubbed off every deceptive stain,

bitterness, rejections and hurts,

nameless nights, broken expectations…

Please Lord,

forgive me for being careless with my bucket,

I’m bringing it to You,

because You are the Only One

Able to RESTORE!

Oh Lord,

and once You wash it with mercy flow

fill it abundantly with Your unending LOVE!

Love that survives the daily lacks,

love that endures as I face seasons of loneliness and doubts!

Fill my bucket Lord,

I pray daily to You,

as tears poured down from my eyes…

I am Yours Lord and You are mine,

beloved Christ Jesus lover of my soul!

Leave a comment